Cerin is back-to-back Philippine Tough Truck Challenge Champion

By Alvin Uy December 12,2018

Michael Cerin took home his 2nd PTTC champion’s trophy when he bested 49 other racers from all over the country in PTTC XVIII held in Barangay Poblacion, Libona Bukidnon last December 8 and 9, 2018. Garnering a total combined time of 21 minutes 27 seconds 71 milliseconds for Tracks A, B, and C, Cerin of 4Wheelers Davao edged out Altams Altamera of the Cabantian Adventure Team (22:23:90) and 18 yr. old Christian Doyon of Ormoc 4Wheelers (22:39:28). Jherico Lara of Aurora Racing Team, who finished 7th, and was declared 2018 Driver of the Year finishing the racing season with 744 pts.

Jodax Daquil of 4Wheelers Davao finished 2nd with JR Bartolome of the Land Cruiser Club of the Philippines closing the top three. Davao 4Wheelers was also declared 2018 Team Champion, their 4th in a row, for their consistent performance throughout the 2018 racing season.

Meanwhile, the Production Class category which had 26 competitors saw Junjun Espanola bagging the Production Class – Expert category top prize with a time of 12 minutes 25 seconds 48 milliseconds and Juan Paolo Torreda topping the Production Class – Novice category with a time of 10:08:27.

The event also saw two champion racers from Malaysia compete – 2018 Borneo Safari 1st runner up Yap Soon King and 3x Rainforest Challenge champion Cu Xi Chang. Although both racers failed to make it to the final round, they entertained the crowd with their precise driving talent and never-say-die attitude. Because of their infectious passion and enthusiasm, encouraging not just their countrymen but local racers as well, Team Malaysia was awarded the PTTC XVIII Team Spirit Award.

The Bernie Bayani Sportsmanship Award was awarded, for the first time, to Dennis Garcia of 4Wheelers Davao while 14-year-old Gian Narciso was declared Best Young Driver. The Father and Son Award went to Joseph and Joshua Rodriguez of 4Wheelers Davao while the Best in Engineering honors went to Junar Nolasco. Finally, the Show and Shine award was given to CJ Doyon of Ormoc 4Wheelers.

Philippine Tough Truck Challenge is made possible with the support of Maxxis Tires Philippines, Racetech 4×4 Suspensions, 199 OffroadHouse, AEG Powertools, FCC Trading, TRE 4×4, ProRock Engineering, ARB, Ride, Inc., Come Up Winch.

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.