Troy Montero heads list of winners in rain-soaked Toyota’s Vios Racing Festival

September 03,2019

WHEN it rains, they race.

Inclement weather could not stop the more than 20 drivers who competed in Toyota’s Vios Racing Festival series held Saturday at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga. The grassroots motor racing event held the second round of the Vios Circuit Championship, a genuine wheel-to-wheel race, and the third round of the Vios Autocross Challenge, a timed event.

“On behalf of Toyota Motor Philippines [TMP], I would like to express my deepest appreciation to our customers and fans who have dedicated time and effort to witness our Vios motor sports events,” said TMP president Satoru Suzuki during the races’ opening ceremonies.

TMP is organizer of the Vios Racing Festival.

The celebrity drivers of the Toyota Vios Racing Festival.

Three races comprise the Vios Circuit Championship, each having three categories — Celebrity, Promotional and Sporting.

Competitors in the Vios Autocross Challenge are divided in three classes — Social Media Personalities, Media and Car Clubs.

The wet track caused some racers problems. Troy Montero, racing in the Celebrity class, collided with Sporting class driver John Dizon after crossing the finish line in Race 5.

Another celebrity racer, Chie Filomeno, also retired after aquaplaning off the track.

The drivers were immediately brought to hospital. They were cleared and were back at the venue in time for the awarding ceremonies.

“No matter what happens, I still find myself coming back to this sport. The adrenaline rush it gives me is out of this world,” posted Filomeno on Instagram.

Montero on the same platform said: “Despite the outside damage, the driver’s area was totally untouched. We also have a roll cage, race suit, and helmet, and most especially the HANS (head and neck) device to keep us safe.”

The race winners are:


Vios Circuit Challenge

Race 4           Celebrity                              Promotional           Sporting

1st place      Troy Montero                    Julian Tang              Red Diwa

2nd place     Daniel Matsunaga            Julian Neri               John Dizon

3rd place     Gretchen Ho                       Darrel Garbes        Eggy Ong


Race 5           Celebrity                              Promotional           Sporting

1st place      Troy Montero                    Elysse Menorca     Red Diwa

2nd place     Daniel Matsunaga            Julian Neri               Marc Soong

3rd place     Aubrey Miles                      Francis Adriano    Clive Fermin


Race 6           Celebrity                              Promotional           Sporting

1st place      Daniel Matsunaga            Elysse Menorca     Eggy Ong

2nd place     Gretchen Ho                       Francis Adriano    Red Diwa

3rd place     Aubrey Miles                      Julian Tang              Clive Fermin


Vios Autocross Challenge

Social Media           Media                                    Car Clubs

1st place      Jules Aquino           Jose Luis Altoveros          Carlos Inigo Anton

2nd place     Ralph Bangsil         Earl Davidson Lee            Sean Kody Ng

3rd place     Jun Sunga                Chewy Buhion                  Mickie Carbonell


The next and final leg of the Vios Racing Festival is scheduled on November 9 at the Clark international Speedway. The event is supported by Bridgestone, Petron, Motul, Rota, Brembo, Denso, AVT, 3M, OMP and Tuason Racing.


Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of Cebudailynews. We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.